Latest news

"H is for Happiness" wins CinefestOZ $100,000 Film Prize
Read more about H Is for Happiness here
September 2nd 2019

"H is for Happiness" wins CinefestOZ $100,000 Film Prize

CinefestOZ Film Festival has announced H is for Happiness as this year’s winner of the highly coveted $100,000 Film Prize.

H is for Happiness, directed by John Sheedy and produced by Julie Ryan, Tenille Kennedy and Lisa Hoppe, was awarded Australia’s greatest film prize during a star-studded ceremony tonight at Australia’s premier destination film festival.

Sheedy, Ryan, Kennedy and Hoppe were presented with the award this evening by the Hon David Templeman, Minister for Culture and the Arts, as part of CinefestOZ’s dazzling Gala Night celebrations in Busselton, in Australia’s South West.

“It’s a real honour to be here tonight to accept the Film Prize on behalf of the H is for Happiness team,” Kennedy said. “It was such a treat to screen to our hometown audience this morning.”

“I’d like to thank ScreenWest, Lotterywest, WA Regional Film Fund, MIFF Premiere Fund, Screen Australia, Film Victoria, Universal and LevelK.”

Sheedy added: “This is incredible. It’s such a prestigious prize. The competition was so tough. There were five amazing films, I saw all of them. To be chosen in such good company is wonderful and to be here at CinefestOZ it’s amazing.”

”Published in Cinema Australia on September 2nd. Read the entire article here.